About the department

At the Department of Meteorology at Stockholm University (MISU) we conduct research and education in an international environment within four main areas:

  • Atmospheric Physics
  • Dynamic Meteorology
  • Physical Oceanography
  • Chemical Meteorology

There is a strong focus on climate and on processes important for the climate and it's development in all these areas. The department is a part of the Bolin Centre for Climate Research where we together with three other university departments conduct research into many important aspects of the climate system.

The department employs about 70 individuals, of which about 30 are scientists, 25 PhD students and 15 are in administration and technical support personnel.


Delegation of autority (Beslutsordning)

Delegation of authority at MISU 140423

Department Board

The MISU department board handles a variety of important issues related to education and research at the department, such as course curriculum, teaching arrangements, admission of graduate students, budgets and requests from the students.

The board consists of seven members and a permanent secretary. The members are normally elected for three years with the exception of student representatives who have a term of one year. Student representatives are appointed by the Student Union (graduate student representative on a proposal from the PhD Council at the department).

The Board is composed as follows:

Chairman: Rodrigo Caballero, Head of Department
Vice Chairman: Johan Nilsson, Deputy Head of Department
Secretary: Sara Engström, Head of Administration

Valkorp 1 (teachers) 

- Linda Megner
- Jörg Gumbel
- Jonas Nycander
Suppleanter: Gunilla Svensson, Kristofer Döös

Valkorp 2 (TA personnel) 

- Nils Walberg
Suppleanter: Anna Lewinschal, Albert de Haan

Valkorp 3 (students) 

- Aiden Jönsson
- Greta de Ridder (Grundutbildningen)
Suppleanter: Lina Broman, Karolina Seigel, vakant (Grundutbildningen)


The Prefektråd

The Prefektråd was created after suggestions from the MISU internal change work (decision made by the prefect 2011-04-27). The prefektråd is part of the new leadership structure, that should transparent and make it possible for everyone at MISU to feel included in the department work.

Prefektrådet har bildats efter förslag som framkommit i arbetet inom MISU’s förändringsprojekt (prefektbeslut 2011-04-27). Prefektrådet är en del i den föreslagna nya ledningsstrukturen vilken ska vara transparent och göra att alla vid institutionen kan känna sig delaktiga i institutionens arbete.

Members of the Prefektråd (medlemmar)

    Rodrigo Caballero (Head of Department/Prefekt)
    Johan Nilsson (Deputy Head of Department/ stf. Prefekt)
    Sara Engström (Head of Administration/Administrativ chef)
    Kristofer Döös (Director of Studies undergrad/Studirektor grundutbildning)


Faculty Council / Lärarråd

The faculty council has been established after a suggestion that was put forward in connection to the work within the improvement project at MISU (prefektbeslut 2011-04-27). The council consists of all permanently employed teachers at MISU. It is part of the proposed new governance structure for MISU which should be transparent and inclusive for everyone at the department. More information in the document below.


Administration and economy questions

Sara Engström, Head of Administration

Marianne Lagerklint, Personnel, communicator

Agneta Malmberg, IMI administrator, purchasing, archives

Albert de Haan, Economist

Susanne Ericson, Financial administrator


Student questions

Ingrid Eronn, Study and career counsellor and administrator


IT, workshop, laboratory and janitorial questions

Sergej Karetnikov, Data and system technician

Nils Walberg, Research engineer

Joachim Dillner, Research engineer

Emmy Nilsson, Research engineer

Anna Lewinschal, Scientific programmer

Jan Söderlund, Department Engineer


Special responsibilities

Here you can find a list of people responsible for issues related to your work environment at MISU.

  • Work environment, including safety related issues
  • Archive
  • IT Security
  • Equality
  • Environment
  • Procurement
  • Head of PhD Council


Working groups

Here are links to all MISU working groups, their objectives and members. /
Här är länkar till MISU:s arbetsgrupper, deras syfte och medlemmar.

  • Arbetsmiljö- och likabehandlingsgruppen /Work environment and equality group
  • Miljögruppen /Environment group
  • Forskarutbildningsgruppen /Graduate Education group
  • Grundutbildningsgruppen /Undergraduate Education group
  • Webbgruppen /Web group
  • Seminariegruppen /Seminar group
  • Sociala aktiviteter /Social activities