Ariel Kahrl
Ariel Kahrl. Foto: Private

Ariel Kahrl, postdoctoral fellow, Department of Zoology:
“I am really looking forward to this summer as we will hopefully be able to start visiting friends and family safely again. Mine and my husband’s parents will come and visit us from the U.S., and after not seeing them for almost two years, it will be amazing to see them in person again. We hope to spend time here in the city and travel in the archipelago with our two-year-old son, our dog and our parents.”



Gabor Schubert
Gabor Schubert. Foto: Private

Gabor Schubert, investigator, Stockholm University Library:
“We usually travel to Hungary and visit my parents and relatives. Unfortunately, it will take some time before we can go there again. This year, we will probably have a “Hemester”, holiday at home, in Uppsala, and maybe we will travel around in Sweden. Hopefully, the weather will be fine, and if so I will go biking in and around Uppsala.”




Pauline Snoeijs Leijonmalm
Pauline Snoeijs Leijonmalm. Foto: Peter Sylvander

Pauline Snoeijs Leijonmalm, professor, Department of Ecology, Environment and Plant Sciences:
“After midsummer, it will be intense quality time with my dear husband, our chickens, bonus daughter, grandchildren and a bunch of super nice neighbors. On July 15, I will check in at a quarantine hotel in Malmö and on July 26, the icebreaker Oden leaves the port. I am Chief Scientist for this year’s scientific Arctic expedition in the area between Greenland and the North Pole. A researcher’s dream! A huge, completely unexplored area where there is still perennial sea ice. We will map the effects of climate change on the Central Arctic ecosystem from microbes to fish. When I get home on September 20, I will start looking for a new family member: a lively and kind Danish-Swedish farm dog.”

Sarah Holst Kjaer
Sarah Holst Kjaer. Foto: Snefrid Holst Vallentin

Sarah Holst Kjaer, ethnologist and staycation researcher, Department of Ethnology, History of Religions and Gender Studies:
“My plan this year is a vacation at home. A garden party with camping with the distant family, a trip to the beach cottage where friends and family come to visit, a course in yoga and ballet summer school for the daughter. Small trips by car and bicycle. Not least, I will swim! In addition, the researcher in me will go on different excursions: I want to study how the Scandinavian tourism industry has developed its activities based on the needs of the visitors. During the corona pandemic, domestic tourism has had every chance to improve all experience products and redesign itself towards a well-defined home tourist. I really hope to see an improvement in an industry that is not always creative enough.”